top of page

COASTER REVIEW

Reviews / Blogs / Trip Reports

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureofficialcoasterrev

Drayton Manor: Trip Report 26/09/18

Updated: Oct 11, 2018


It's been a while since I've last been at Drayton Manor. The last time I was here was when I dropped off my staff uniform just before I left to work at Blackpool Pleasure Beach. Not much has really changed at all in the park since I last left. Not really expected anything to change but things to change sometimes. My old friends are still around which made the day better as it was nice to see them and chat with them, and they most certainly didn't forget me.


I love the park and I think it's great. The one thing that teases me whenever I come is seeing old rides still SBNO and you'd wish that they reopen it. Hopefully a day will come for one ride in particular. With many rides and attractions to go on in the park, and also a 30 minute wait until the rides open, I took the opportunity to talk to some old colleagues which was great.


But anyway, when I arrived at the park I still had a few minutes left until the shutters were going to raise allowing us to make our way through the ticket barriers onto the park.




While I waited for the rides to open at 10:30, I wanted to get some photos of the Pirate Adventure exit walkway because I haven't taken photos there before and I thought it might look nice, and it did.

Before going on any rides, the first thing I did was that I went down the Pirate Adventure exit walkway as right now it is not blocked off from public view. The corridor is quite dull and is photogenic as well to capture.

Leading towards the exit


At the end of the corridor you come up to two black doors which was used as the exit with a 'No Entry' sign as well. The wall around it is still themed to how it used to be in that section of the park, a crumbing pirate theme,

The whole ride is still there but it has been closed since March 2015 due to a factor of many issues, unfortunately sealing it's fate for good. The building facade is still there but the entrance sign has been painted over hiding the name to the ride. I hope much can be down with this area as it is one of the largest areas in the park and right now.



The first ride that I headed off to start the day was on Drunken Barrels. The ride is an Intamin Drunken Barrels that opened in 2006, replacing Cyclone which was an old Enterprise which has been relocated to Thorpe Park, UK under the name Zodiac. A whole ride to myself, alright start to the day but the wheel in the center felt to be a bit sharper and not nothing you should really grip hard on otherwise you won't slice you hand, but it will feel like it. Would be good to see the wheel padded, but hey-ho. No.



Next ride of the day was the Golden Nugget shooter which opened in 2000. It was revamped for the 2018, and it opened up a few weeks into the season. Quite a bit has changed to the ride such as new guns and a monitor added to the I.E. Park cars. The building has darkened down a lot more than usual because Golden Nugget used to be much brighter and used a lot of artificial lighting. Sheriff's Showdown is using what looks like Christmas tree lights on the ceiling giving it a dull but visible environment. Thankfully the 'You've got a bonus' is still there which is near enough the main thing everyone remembers this ride and it would have been a massive shame but thankfully we can enjoy it. Something as well I notice while on the ride are the original targets are still left up in some places. While most the targets were replaced during the redevelopment, the history of Golden Nugget is still around.



A bit has changed externally and it's looks nice and fresh than how it used to look. The props such as, a cart and also some trees make the building look really nice than what it did before. Personally Sheriff's Showdown looks much better on the outside, but I haven't yet got used to the interior so for me Golden Nuggets will always be better for me.



Apocalypse is down! Unfortunately one of the best UK drop towers is down and awaiting a part. It was hinted that it may reopen later in the day so with this down, it was time to head off elsewhere.



With Apocalypse being down as well as Polperro Express and the Carousel, we headed over to the Buffalo Coaster for the first coaster of the day, but nope. It was experiencing some downtime in the morning and maintenance were there on the ride. Instead of waiting because rides are very unpredictable and you can never be too certain how long it'll take for it to be up running. Time was about 10:40am so I decided to head over to the Flying Dutchman instead as it was the closest ride open to the Buffalo Coaster.



Whayyy, it was open! I never really went on this ride when I came here back when I started getting into theme parks and amusement parks, but now everytime I come here this is a ride I always go on. Built by Intamin and opened in 1983, just like Drunken Barrels the ride name is the same as the model, which is the Flying Dutchman. After having a refurbishment back in 2016, the ride is a nice and enjoyable ride that doesn't have a minimum height restriction so it can ridden by smaller riders. Using a seat belt across two riders, the ride offers a comfortable experience by swinging in the air and a nice and quick speed, being a good thrilling ride to smaller rides, and is one of the oldest operating rides on the park.



Time for the Jolly Buccaneer!

This 1992 Mack Rides classic is still going strong. For a ride that has a bit of a small diameter. The ride doesn't have a model name, but I'd personally refer it as a Happy Sailor, but others like to use that as another name as the rotating boat ride otherwise known as Sea Storm. With 16 boats and a capacity of 32 riders, this is a quick throughput ride with a cycle time of two minutes.

This was one of the many rides I operated back when I used to work at Drayton Manor, so I do have a bit of a love for this ride because it's a fun ride to work on.



One of my favourites that I worked on. The Bounty is a 2007 Intamin Bounty pirate ship, with a very high capacity of 50 riders, I think this is one of the best pirate ships in the UK without a doubt. Obviously the best experience on the ride is the two ends of the boat as because of how high you swing, you are near enough vertical. Only using a lap bar restraint, I find this more thrilling than Apocalypse because Apocalypse has a single drop, whereas Bounty is continuous and provides more of a thrill.



The HB Leisure pay-to-use RC boats have been removed. Hopefully they are preparing for a new development in that area. As it's over the water a Zierer Jet Ski would be nice to see, but unfortunately with new water regulations, Exalibur: A Dragon's Tale was the last water ride/attraction to operate using unfiltered water. For a new water ride to open it would be to be uncontaminated and filtered water.


Or... this could be a case of HB Leisure paid attraction is suffering with some difficulties, or it's not making enough profit.




Splash Canyon is still showing no signs of returning which is a massive shame. Covered by a wooden fence used as a barrier, the only way to see the Splash Canyon trough and scenes are by riding the Polperro Express, or riding Shockwave, but you won't be able to capture any images. Splash Canyon is one of the three ride out of four main water rides at Drayton Manor currently onsite which are SBNO. The other two being Excalibur: A Dragon's Tale, and Pirate Adventure. Even though they are closed, they're still on site and haven't been removed. Splash Canyon is an Intamin Rapids Ride that opened up in 1993.




The wonderful Shockwave (?)

It's unique in the sense that it is the only stand-up roller coaster in the UK. It was the only stand-up roller coaster in Europe until 2015 when Cavallino Matto opened Freestyle which is a Togo Stand-up.


It's not very smooth or comfortable but what row you're in does make a difference. If you're in the first row it is the smoothest row out of the whole train, and then the second and third row is a bit jerky, not not too rough. Any row after that is extremely uncomfortable to almost unbearable. The coaster opened in 1994 and was actually built and fabricated by Giovanola, another Swiss company, while Intamin Amusement Rides was the supplier. It is true that it is an Intamin coaster, it was fabricated by Giovanola as well as the trains.


Reaching speeds of 53mph, this coaster has four inversions, an inverted loop, zero-G roll, and two corkscrews.



G-Force is still experiencing downtime and it's been rumoured to be down for the rest of the season. I'm really not surprised at this point and I wouldn't consider it to be a great loss, but it is another ride at the park which is down. Less rides operating lead to other attractions building up longer queues. Not good.



Poor Chairlift.

Unfortunately this is what's left of the Chairlift, and it does look quite despressing. With the Chairlift gone it has left a lot of space by where the entrance to G-Force is. Possible development or attraction to go in that area for the future? Better hope so because the park is starting to lose attractions, and we don't want picnic benches instead.



Time for one of the best ride on the park.

Maelstrom is a 2002 Intamin Amusement Rides Gyro-Swing. I love this ride a lot and it's something I always come back to to re-ride a lot. Provides a lot of airtime when riding, swings up to 120" but it doesn't have a short 1 minute 30 second cycle. For a large thrill ride at the park, it does have a 32 rider capacity.



Carousel originally built in 1898, and refurbished by John H. Rundles in 2013. Sadly this was closed and have been closed for quite a few weeks for repairs. Hopefully it should be back up and running for the Magic Christmas event.




Dodgems Ahoy! Time for I.E. Park Soli bumping! The dodgems reopened in 1990 using a Supercar Leisure Ltd track after replacing a portable dodgem track built by Orton & Spooner, The Dodgems aren't too bad but they are one of the slowest dodgems out there. This is usually one of the busiest rides on the park because who doesn't love some bumper car action? Children. Little children because they're too small.


Even though it is a slow dodgems, the cycle time certainly does make up for it because it runs usually around 2 minutes 30 seconds but it feels much longer.



Pirate Adventure is still around - but for how long?

Saying that Excalibur: A Dragon's Tale closed back in early 2011 and they've near enough left everything there so it will be no surprise at all to see the Pirate Adventure facade around for the next 10+ years. I don't like that the greenery are starting to grow over the facade covering the history of what was the main attraction of the park. It was truly a well love ride, and you have no idea how many people asked me while I was working Jolly Buccaneer if they ride is open, why it closed, and will it ever reopen.



So after spending some time in the main area of the park, I decided to make my way to Thomas Land, mainly to the expansion area.



One of my favourite rides I worked on in the Thomas Land expansion area was Toby's Tram Express. Opened with the area in 2015, it is a Zamperla Barnyard that lifts from the ground, tilts and then spins a decent speed swaying all the riders about. For a family ride it does have a bit of intensity to it, and that's what I liked about it.



After working on Spongebob Splash Bash at Blackpool Pleasure Beach, that Mack machine really puts this small Zamperla Water Mania to shame. Captain's Sea Adventure opened in 2015 as apart of the Thomas Land expansion,



Best Gerstlauer in the UK? The Troublesome Trucks Runaway Coaster opened up in 2008 replacing the Super Dragon that previously operated where it is during it's Robinson's Land era. With a capacity of 20 riders, 4 per car. This little coaster has a two lap special, giving riders something a bit more worth queuing up for. It's a very fun coaster and is the same minimum height requirement as Accelerator. Strangle to believe that but it's true.



Choo-choo! Thomas The Tank Engine soon about to depart to Tidmouth Halt.


The locomotives, carriages and equipment was built and supplied by Metallbau Emmeln of Germany, and for a small journey. it's nice and enjoyable especially for very young children who are into Thomas & Friends.



Since I was in Thomas Land original area, I thought I might as well head to Winston's Whistle Stop Tour as it's a nice and relaxing monorail providing an aerial tour of Thomas Land. Manufactured by Zamperla, the ride opened in 2013, 5 years after Thomas Land originally opened.



Pirate Adventure cannot hide from me! No matter where I am or what ride I am on, Pirate Adventure is always lurking in the background.



Food review!


Large fries and cheese burger came to a total of £5.45. The first issue I noticed with the food were that the chips weren't recently made, they came out becoming cold, like they've been left out in the open to cool down, and fries looked like they were served as a medium. The portion was that small. Only one pick with the cheeseburger and that was that the burger bun was soggy. The burger bun is very typical like the ones you purchase from Asda or Tesco. It was a nice burger and tasted alright. Just a pity with the soggy bun.


Don't get me wrong., Yes, I could have taken it back and got a new lot, but to be honest the food was still edible so I didn't think it was worth the hassle to get it replaced. The person who served me looked like a grumpy sod who had no interest and wanted to go home. I can understand it's a long and tiring position, but they need to remember they are serving customers, so professionalism shouldn't be ignored.



Back to the Dodgems and I noticed the Free Radio is still around. Drayton Manor really don't like removing stuff.



After food, going back on Dodgems and Jolly Buccaneer, I headed over to the zoo since I already done the whole of the park about two or three times. But on the way you can see see that Excalibur: A Dragon's Tale is still standing, but it has been converted into an exit shop for the Magical Christmas, after you've seen Santa.



Time to go through the zoo!



The original sign is still there.

Drayton Manor really do like to save their heritage stuff, but it needs a little bit of a clean.



Here's one of many Jungle Cruise props that have been placed to one side, but still in view to see. The Jungle Cruise operated between 1976-2001 and was built by Alan Hawes Amusement Company/Ivan Bennett.



Everything from The Excalibur: A Dragon's Tale is still there. Even though it is 'closed', the ride is still SBNO with everything still there, apart from the tow rope, and operator cabin which has been converted so that it can be used for the Christmas event. The boats have been grounded but recently been relocated someone else. The ride closed in 2011 due to the ride experiencing multiple issues.



The Excalibur: A Dragon's Tale boats have been replaced by Splash Canyon boats!

These can be seen from the Tamarin Trail just after the Reptile House on the left.



While some development work is going on the Polperro Express crossing, the locomotive and carriages are currenlty being serviced and checked ready for the Magical Christmas event. Since the level crossing is closed if you wanted to head over to Maelstrom, Stormforce 10, Shockwave or Air Race, you would need to walk around the other side by the Polperro Express station entrance and head over to the other level crossing.



Nice to see Stormforce 10 is back up running. Shame it was closed during the whole of the 2017 season, but it was in need of a refurbishment so I'm glad it's back up. Manufactured by BEst Amusement Rides (Bear GmbH), the ride opened in 1999 and was the first flume ride in the UK to use a turntable and reverse section. At the beginning when you're about to leave the station building, you are lifted up on a ramp rather than a standard drop. The only time you usually see a lifting ramp are on water dingy flume rides, such as the ones manufactured by Whitewater Leisure.



Here's something that you probably never knew, but if you worked at the park then you would see this everyday. Like what I've said about Drayton Manor liking to keep their history, they've not taken down the Excalibur: A Dragon's Tale windows but they've attempted to cover it up with company branded covers.



Buffalo Coaster is still going strong after 31 years. It is a classic coaster that is somehow still running. It was suppose to close about 5-6 years ago but it has proven it is strong enough to keep fighting for many more seasons, but how much life does it have left in it? Just goes to show that Zamperla can make something that will last overtime.



Day is coming to an end. It has been okay but not very impressed with the ride availability and reliability. A bit dissapointed but I've done enough as I can, and the queues have been nice and short!



Free parking!

Well... not for long. Are you looking forward to pay to park? Time to park up on residential streets and walk to the park. It's been hinted the parking is less than £4 so it's not too bad at all. Wonder if the parking will be implemented for the Magical Christmas or for the new season.



Time to head back home and write up the blog!



What did I think about the day in total?


The issue I had with the park today which was a shame was the ride availability. Today was absolutely terrible for line up.

These rides were closed all day: G-Force, Polperro Express, Carousel, and Apocalypse.


A lot of the rides experience downtime as well such as Bounty, Air Race, Stormforce 10, and Buffalo. I've worked on two of them before so I can know that they're not always perfect, when it comes to reliability, but it's a shame for rides to go down, but thankfully then went back into operation shortly after which is good.


Just a shame as well to see three out of four water rides being SBNO. Excalibur: A Dragon's Tale has been closed since 2011, Pirate Adventure has been closed since 2015, and Splash Canyon has been closed since 2017. It's a shame to see them out of operation, but with Splash Canyon there is not much that can be done at this moment in time.


The ride staff have been brilliant as per usual. Am I being bias? Possibly but at the end of the day I am no more affiliated with the park so I am just a guest to the park.


Don't get me wrong, anyone would love near enough love to have a park to themselves or very quiet with less than 5-10 minute queues, or even walk on, but it got to the point where I am doing it so consistently, it just got a bit boring. The only rides that I went back for mainly were Maelstrom, Dodgems and Accelerator. Why not more? I just felt bored with the others.


Drayton Manor is a great family park and perfect for everyone as it's have different category of rides aimed at everyone from babies/toddlers, to younger children, to teenagers and adults. This park has everything for everyone, but it just felt like today was a let down and I was a bit disappointed. I spent the day with someone else who I got in with my staff ticket and he said to me that he was glad that he didn't pay to come in because it didn't seem worth it with the availability.


I am not hating the park in general, but availability hasn't been the best at all.


It's a park I will always return to as I love the place. During my time there it was basically my second home, and I love and miss everyone there. I will be returning again next month so I hope the rides list will be better.


I wish for the best for Drayton Manor as it's a park lacking in attendance, and surprisingly sometimes during low-season it doesn't even have 1,500 guests in the park so Drayton needs to get visitors. While the park is quiet during the weekday, take advantage and go for as many rides as you can.

403 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Home: Team Members
549.jpg

HARRY

Owner

Founded back in September 2015.

​

I am a 23 year old ex Ride Operator and a huge theme park geek.

​

I've worked on 35 rides in a matter of 5 years. I've worked at Blackpool Pleasure Beach, Europa Park, Drayton Manor and Gulliver's Kingdom, as well as a travelling fair!

Subscribe

Stay up to date

Home: Subscribe
456.jpg

RIDES I'VE WORKED ON

This is a list of a few rides I have worked on - some not included on this list

Gulliver's Kingdom

Dino Explorer Cars

Balloon Ferris Wheel

Gully's Magic Bikes

Cycle Monorail

Log Coaster

Drop Tower

Pirate Ship

Carousel

Flying Carpet

Dodgems

Dino Falls

Snail Attack

Albert's Rocket Ride

Crow's Nest

Switchback

Lazy River

​

Drayton Manor Park

Air Race

James & The Red Balloon

Toby's Tram Express

Flynn's Fire Rescue

Jolly Buccaneer

The Bounty

Polperro Express

Maelstrom

Sheriff's Showdown

​

Blackpool Pleasure Beach

Spongebob Splash Bash

Rugrats Lost River

Wallace & Gromit: Thrill-O-Matic

Valhalla

​

Europa Park

blue fire MegaCoaster

Poseidon

Euro Tower

Silver Star

​

​

Home: About
505.jpg

SOMETHING YOU PROBABLY DON'T KNOW ABOUT ME

Back in January 2016 I worked for a ride manufacturer until March 2016. I helped build two Miami's and a Race-O-Rama.

​

T'was an interesting experience, but not something I'll do again in the future. Ride operations and maintenance is more for me. Not steel fabrication.

​

Although being a fitter is fun as well!

Learn More
Home: About
bottom of page